top of page

USIA Fellow Nobel Laureate Sheldon Lee Glashow

Nobel Laureate Sheldon Lee Glashow is a Distinguished Honorary / Advisory Fellow Physicist of the United Sigma Intelligence Association (USIA).


American scientist Sheldon Lee Glashow is a theoretical physicist whose research includes cosmology, elementary particles, nuclear physics (particles), and quarks. Dr. Glashow and physicists Dr. Steven Weinberg and Dr. Abdus Salam received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1979 for their research and development of the electroweak theory.

Sheldon Glashow was born in New York on December 5, 1932, and attended the Bronx High School of Science along with Steven Weinberg. Dr. Glashow earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from Cornell University in 1954 and a Ph.D. in physics from Harvard in 1959.

Dr. Glashow worked as a faculty member at Stanford University, University of California in Berkeley, and Harvard University. He was also a visiting scientist at the Niels Bohr Institute and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), a visiting professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), and a university scholar at Texas A&M University. He became a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1977 and consulted at the Brookhaven National Laboratory. Dr. Glashow served as President of the International Sakharov Committee from 1985 to 1988. He held several physics professorships at Harvard University from 1966 through 2000, including Professor of Physics, Higgins Professor of Physics, and Mellon Professor of Science. He is currently a professor emeritus at Harvard University.

Select Awards and Honors
  • J. Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Prize (1977)

  • Nobel Prize in Physics (1979)

  • Golden Plate Award of the American Academy of Achievement (1980)

  • European Physical Society Prize (2011)


bottom of page